September Wrap-Up & October TBR

Hey Book buddies, it’s Jess!

Nice to see you again! Or if you’re new, Welcome to my blog!

I was thinking this week about what my posting schedule should be, and I have decided that I will be posting at least once a week on Sundays! School gets pretty hectic sometimes, so I thought Sundays would be perfect as I have the whole week AND Saturday to write a post! Depending on the week, I might post twice if I feel like it! You can expect reviews, monthly wraps ups and TBRs (like this one), creative posts, fun reading updates, and hopefully some tags, even though no one has tagged me in the ones I’ll be doing.

I’m still getting used to blogging and this whole community so please bear with me!

Okay, then! Back to the main purpose of this blog!

I read a bit in September! The school holidays started mid-September, giving me heaps of time to read; though I did have some homework to do as well 😭😭

I read three/four-ish books this month; the ‘four-ish’ being a short story in a collection of short stories.

I managed to finish both City of Ashes and City of Glass by Cassandra Clare, and both books were outstanding! My small review for City of Ashes in already up on my Goodreads profile, and my City of Glass review will be coming soon….

I loved City Of Glass more than City Of Ashes and if this series didn’t continue on further, I don’t think I would’ve been completely satisfied with the ending and would probably tweet Cassandra Clare daily asking for more books! (luckily I don’t have to do that now, since she’s planning to continue this series until 2021!!) I don’t want to go into too much detail, but if you haven’t picked up this series – which you probably have because I’m literally last on the bandwagon – you have to because the characters are amazing and the plot is so intriguing and Cassie’s writing is enjoyable. I cannot wait to read Clockwork Angel next! (I’m reading the books in publication order if you were wondering).

I also read Deadly, Unna?, a school text I had to read. I will not be doing a review for this book because 1) it’s for school and 2) it was terrible. The storyline was everywhere and it felt like I was starting a new story when I started the “Summer” section. The characters were very boring and basic; very two-dimensional. I didn’t get to know any of the characters at all and felt nothing for them when something bad happened. The writing was also a nightmare! I know it was meant to be a slang, Aussie book, but there was little to no descriptions and some of the slang was hard to remember and comprehend, even when I’m an Aussie myself. I may not be a bogan, but I still want to understand your novel. I did get better as it went along, so I guess that’s a plus?! (is it really?!) This took me so long to read and I put it off for weeks. This would’ve gotten me into a reading slump if it wasn’t for TMI!!!

My Goodread Review on Deadly, Unna.

Earlier this year, I read the Delirium trilogy. I had already read Hanna and Annabel’s short stories, but I wanted to read Raven’s. So I found the bind up of all the short stories in my school library – which was an amazing find since there are hardly any new books in my school library – and I read Raven’s story. It was really cute but sad since I knew the ending of the final book and this story was based during a scene in the second book (I think!). I don’t think it’s necessary to read the short stories, but if you are really interested in what happened to the side characters in the Delirium trilogy, I suggest you pick them up!

So that’s all I read this month! I don’t read that fast and I only read about 1-2 hours a day, depending on the day, so I apologize if future updates aren’t very long.

 

Now onto what I plan to read and finish next month! BTW, next month is my birthday month, so I might be posting a birthday haul! I’m getting a couple books so get excited!

I plan to read at least 2 books next month. Both books are over 400 pages and school is starting again, so I hope I reach my goal!

The first book I’ll be reading in October is Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. I’ve actually already started reading it and it’s been really good so far. I’ve heard nothing but AMAZING reviews for this novel, so I was extremely excited to pick it up. This is also my first Morgan Matson book! I don’t know if I’ll do a review on this book, and if I do, I’ll probably just do a small review and not go into too much detail; maybe a spoiler-free review.

And the second book I plan to read is Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. OMG!! I cannot wait to pick this up and dive into the Shadow World again after a contemporary novel! I don’t know what to expect, except for awesomeness and kick-ass characters. 😍😍😍

 

Those are all the books I read in September and plan to read in October! Add me as friend on Goodreads to see my book updates and reviews. I’ll also be open to DMs on Goodreads, so add me as a friend so we can chat! I also tweet occasionally about books so please follow me on Twitter!

 

Stay bookish,

Jess xoxo

 

Leave a Reply/Let's Discuss

