CITY OF GLASS REVIEW! (finally!)

Hey book buddies! THIS IS MY FIRST REVIEW! I hope you like it; it took me a while to write because school work got in the way! Please comment below if you have any creative criticism that could help me! I want to improve and if you have any tips, please share them with me because I would love to hear it!

I finished City of Glass a couple of weeks ago and I am glad that I finally have my review up! City of Glass was absolutely amazing! It was better than the two previous books and kept me wanting more, even after it was over. This will be a spoiler-filled review, so if you haven’t read the book, GO READ IT! It’s sooo good! I give it 5/5 stars like the rest of the books in this series.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

***WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD*** (you have been warned!)

CITY OF GLASS WAS BETTER THAN COA AND COB

City of Glass was so much better than the previous two books. It had so much more in terms of content, action, romance, humour……..basically everything! If Cassandra Clare hadn’t written more books, I think I would’ve loved the ending, but want more from her and this complex and exciting world. This book was phenomenal and I cannot wait to get my hands on the rest of the books in the Shadow World!

OKAY, BUT WHY WAS COG BETTER THAN THE TWO PREVIOUS BOOKS?

Number 1.

It was so fast paced and so much was happening, unlike in the previous books where Cassie had to explain things before any action could take place. But what I liked a lot about this book was that she jumped right into action! Like so much happened in the first couple pages – the Forsaken jumping out through the Portal and almost killing everyone I love – that it surprised me at first. It also didn’t help the addiction to this series😂. I was good how she didn’t really need to explain much as we had already covered most things in the two books before, and I think that’s what made me enjoy it so much.

Number 2.

All the ships happened!!!! All my OTPs were featured at some stage! #Clace #Malec #Sizzy Clace scenes were so much better in this book because Jace and Clary go through a lot together and they start to not worry that they are related. I almost cried when Valentine killed Jace and Clary brought him back😭😭

“You could have had anything else in the world, and you asked for me.”

She smiled up at him. Filthy as he was, covered in blood and dirt, he was the most beautiful thing she’d ever seen. “But I don’t want anything else in the world.”

OMG THAT ACTUALLY KILLED ME!! How can a couple be so cute?!

And #Malec?! Don’t get me started on Malec….

They were so frickin cute! While Magnus is still hoping Alec figures out he loves him, he lays off Alec so the other man can figure it out himself. Alec is so confused at the start of the novel – that conversation with Simon was hilarious – but eventually works it out in the end. And then the first Malec kiss happens and I could not even do anything but read and smile! It didn’t really last that long though, which was kinda disappointing, but Maia’s reaction was the best. I can’t wait to see Malec’s first date etc….

Sizzy kinda started in this book as well. After Max’s death, Simon goes to comfort Izzy and she let’s him. I don’t know what happened in that scene, but the start of it was cute. It was very real in my opinion. But then I got confused. What did Izzy do with Simon?! Did they sleep with each other or quite literally sleep with each other?! It was a bit weird and I didn’t really like it that much.

c1697871004c7f76cd04dbe5a8629029 yyyaaaaaassssssss!

Number 3.

So much action took place! City of Glass had SOO much action! Not just at the end, but like at the start and the middle of the book as well! Seraph blades, swords, whips, arrows and daggers were being used in every scene and it was so intense and suspenseful as I didn’t know when someone was going to die. And I didn’t know there were going to be that many deaths in this book either! Max, then Hodge, then Sebastian, then Jace, then Valentine, though two of those people are (probably) still alive; I couldn’t take it. And that scene where Simon goes out to fight, talks to a man, and then the man dies…?!!! I freaked out! There’s was so much action in this book than in the previous books and I LOVED IT!!

Number 4.

IT WAS SO DAMN FUNNY! So many funny lines were being said in the midst of all the action and sadness! That’s what I love about these characters; they can be bad-ass, as well as funny, awkward and sarcastic.

“I am a man” he told her, “and men do not consume pink beverages. Get thee gone woman, and bring me something brown.”– Jace

Most of the lines from Magnus were funny or sarcastic and I love his character so much. Alec and Simon are also such a comedic duo and they bounce off each other hilariously.

“Maybe you should call him,” Simon suggested, trying not to think to hard about how weird it was to be giving a demon hunter advice about possibly dating a warlock.

I love and appreciate when authors put in funny lines during a tense moment, just to lighten up everything. Cassandra Clare does that brilliantly.

 

Those are the 4 main reasons why I loved this book so much, and there are plenty more reasons, but this review would’ve been WAY too long!

I just want to say that City of Glass was a phenomenal, hilarious, exhilarating and outstanding book and would’ve been a really awesome finale to a trilogy, but is now a fantastic third book in a series. I cannot wait to read Clockwork Angel and the rest of the books in the Shadow World. Cassandra Clare’s writing just gets better and better, along with her books, and she’s definitely one of my new favourite authors.

Keep on reading,

Jess xoxo

P.S. As I am writing this, I have not yet got my hands on Clockwork Angel and I’m soooooo annoyed and impatient, but I am really busy and probably can’t get it ‘til next week😭😭😭

But I also found out that Cassie is writing a Magnus Bane trilogy!!!!???!?!?! WHAT?! AND IT’S COMING OUT IN NOVEMBER 2017! It’s not young adult, but adult, so that will be interesting! I cannot wait and I am so excited! =) 
screen-shot-2016-10-08-at-12-56-00-pm

 

Leave a Reply/Let's Discuss

