Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson ~ Spoiler Free Book Review

Hey guys! This is my spoiler-free book review on Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson.21551545

Synopsis taken from Goodreads:

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

MY REVIEW

Since You’ve Been Gone was so amazing. It was my first Morgan Matson book and it most definitely won’t be my last. I give this book a 5/5 stars.

SYBG was so funny, relatable, cute and heart-warming. The characters were very real and I could see them being people I know. All the characters had funny lines and sad moments, but we really got to know them through the course of the novel. Emily had a HUGE character development and I did enjoy watching her grow as a person, though I didn’t agree with some of her decisions. I felt myself growing with her; when I first picked up the book, I actually was a little quieter and less confident than I am now.

Morgan Matson made me ship Frank and Emily so much! Maybe it’s just me, but I loved Frank. Like if he was a real person, I would totally date him!😂😍 He’s just seemed so nice and smart and as I imagined myself as Emily in this novel, I obviously wanted them together.

The writing wasn’t anything special, but it did include funny lines that made me laugh out loud! I love it when a book makes me do that, and SYBG managed to make me laugh multiple times! It was also really cutesy at times and it didn’t really get cheesy at all. There are a lot of cute jokes that run throughout the course of the novel and it made me feel the feels when everything came full circle. The flashbacks came at the right times and accompanied the plot well. The dialogue between the characters wasn’t weird, and I enjoyed it a lot.

“In a well-ordered universe…”

There’s not much else I can say without spoiling this book. Go read it if you haven’t because it is kind of life-changing if you’re shy like me. Since You’ve Been Gone was a very entertaining and fun book to read that did have many serious moments but also a lot of cute moments as well. Morgan Matson is fantastic at writing romance/journey/development sort of stories and I can’t wait to see where her next book I read takes me.

Have a wonderful day,

Jess xoxo

4 thoughts on “Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson ~ Spoiler Free Book Review

Leave a Reply/Let's Discuss

