Zenith (The Androma Saga, #1) by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings ~ Spoiler Free Book Review

Title: Zenith (The Androma Saga, #1)
Author: 
Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings
Publisher: 
Smashwords
Pages:
65
Format: 
E-book
Published:
21 June, 2016
Price: 
$2.99 AUD (iBooks)
Rating:
2.75 / 5 stars

29749205

Synopsis from Goodreads:

There is darkness sweeping across the stars.

Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness: a powerful mercenary whose reign of terror stretches across the Mirabel Galaxy. To those aboard her fearsome glass starship the Maurader, she’s just Andi, their captain and protector.

When a routine mission goes awry, the all-girl crew’s resilience is tested as they find themselves in a most unfamiliar place: at the mercy of a sadistic bounty hunter connected to Andi’s past and a harrowing betrayal.

Meanwhile, on the far side of the galaxy, a ruthless ruler waits in the shadows of the planet Xen Ptera, biding her time to exact revenge for the destruction of her people. The final pieces of her deadly plan are about to fall into place, unleashing a plot that will tear Mirabel in two.

Andi and her crew embark on a dangerous, soul-testing journey that could restore order to their ship—or just as easily start a war that will devour worlds. As the Marauder hurtles towards the unknown, and Mirabel hangs in the balance, the only thing certain is that in a galaxy run on lies and illusion, no one can be trusted.

MY REVIEW

I’m gonna start off by saying that I love both Sasha and Lindsay. Sasha was one of the first BookTubers I found that lead me to where I am today, and the pair are such good friends. I had started to read this book when it first came out, but I barely made it 10 pages in. This was probably due to my mood and that eBooks are harder to read for me, though I am getting better at handling them which I’m happy about.😄So I decided to give it another shot and I wasn’t super impressed with the outcome.

The introduction or “Cell 377” started off confusing for me. I had no idea what was going on, which I kind of expected from a Sci-Fi novel, but I thought we were going straight to Andi and her crew, and not Valen. And with a Sci-fi novel comes a lot of new terms and it was hard to get used to them, especially since this was only a preview of the final product.

The writing was pretty generic and bland, as were some of the lines. A couple reminded me of when Peeta (from THG) was in Capitol cell. I didn’t mind the writing in some chapters – and it is unknown who wrote which chapter – but a lot of the similes involved colour and the sky. I thought there could’ve been some more original and uniquedescriptions. As the book went on, I found a couple weird expressions and words used. I didn’t really get why they used the word ‘fiking’ supposedly as a curse word because they used it a lot, sometimes not even in proper context.

“The rest of you,” Dex said, standing up from his seat, voice rising to a roar, “will catch me that fiking ship!

‘Fike upon fike.’

I didn’t really like Andi’s crew. They seemed very murderous and villain-like; especially Gilly. During the fight, they did some VERY graphic things that surprised me, a lot! Andi, herself, I didn’t like, but by the end of the 60 pages, I started to not dislike her as much and I can see myself enjoying her character in the future. I enjoyed Dex more although he seems like a jerk and he was given some weird mannerisms and dialogue in his POV too.

I liked the ‘villains‘ the most. Cyprian, who I think is a villain, seemed very smart and cunning. His past sounds interesting and I do want to know more about him. And the Xen Ptera ruler (Nor) is actually my favourite character so far! She is so mysterious and demanding, and sounds incredibly evil and driven by her past. I can’t wait to learn more about her when the entire book gets published.

Since this was just the first couple pages of the novel Zenith, it has a lot to work on. I’m not going to judge too harshly because I haven’t read the full thing, but these were just my thoughts so far. I am super excited for the physical copy to come out because I’ll definitely be reading it. Though this preview was kind of rough, I can see a lot of potential for this book and there is room for improvement. I found that it did get better towards the end, so I’m hopeful that the final product will get higher rating from me. I really want Sasha and Lindsay to do well! ❤️

 

Keep on Reading,

Jess xoxo

One thought on “Zenith (The Androma Saga, #1) by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings ~ Spoiler Free Book Review

Leave a Reply/Let's Discuss

