Someone Else’s Summer by Rachel Bateman ~ Spoiler Free Book Review

**Disclaimer: I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**

Title: Someone Else’s Summer
Author: 
Rachel Bateman
Publisher:
Perseus Books Group, Running Press
Pages:
 320
Format: 
ebook
Published:
 2017
Rating:
  3.4/ 5 stars

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Anna’s always idolized her older sister, Storm. So when Storm dies in a tragic car accident on the night of her high school graduation, Anna is completely lost and her family is torn apart. That is, until she finds Storm’s summer bucket list and decides to honor her sister by having the best summer ever—which includes taking an epic road trip to the coast from her sleepy Iowa town. Setting out to do everything on Storm’s list along with her sisters best friend Cameron—the boy next door—who knew that Storm’s dream summer would eventually lead to Anna’s own self-discovery?

IMG_9181.JPG

MY REVIEW

I have many mixed feelings about this book. I enjoyed it at the beginning and end, though the middle wasn’t quite as enjoyable as I would’ve liked.

I’m just going to say that you should go into this book expecting lots of lovey-dovey intimate stuff because you’ll be just as surprised as me when the stuff happens. The relationship between Anna and Cameron was cute, but I did not enjoy reading it. It was very insta-lovey for me. Although they did know each other beforehand, it seemed like they got together WAY too quickly and started making out everywhere. I liked them when they were just friends and I felt weird when they were together because of Storm. I guess I didn’t really ship them in a relationship but more of a friendship.

The characters in this book were mediocre. I did like Anna, and I related to her most when she felt bad or sad about her sister because I had a loss in my family this year, but when she was going to all these parties, it was hard for me to relate to her. She is genuinely a nice person (and so was Piper), but her and her friends sound like the “popular” girls at my school that I do not like. I liked Cameron as well, more than Anna I think, though he didn’t get much of a story/background. He is always mentioned as “the boy next door” but I felt he was more than that. He was Storm’s best friend, and by Anna calling him “the boy next door” made him sound like a stranger. The other characters weren’t very developed as much as I would like, but they were good to have in the story.

Everything in this book seemed to happen really fast. Like they were ticking things off the list without me even realising, and Anna gave into Cameron very easily. Their relationship evolves very quickly too and the summer seemed to pass by in the span of two weeks, though it was meant to be at least a month.

I loved the author’s writing. When she was describing the pain after Storm’s death, the words that were on the page were beautiful. Anna’s internal thoughts were written well and the descriptions were unique. There were a couple times that the writing made me cringe from the cheesy-ness, but this book is still a work in progress, so it’s forgiving.

Overall, I enjoyed this book and I’m glad it was my first ARC from NetGalley. I gave it a 3.4 out of 5 stars. Someone Else’s Summer, for me, was about a girl trying to find out who she is after her role model is no longer there to guide her. Despite all the romance and intimate stuff, the problems in this book were very real, very emotional and very heartbreaking. I cannot wait to see the final product when it comes out; hopefully it will be even better than it currently is! Definitely pick this up if you’re seeking out an emotional, but uplifting contemporary novel!

Happy Reading,

Jess xoxo

Leave a Reply/Let's Discuss

