City Of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, #4) by Cassandra Clare ~ Spoiler Free Book Review

Title: City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, #4)
Author:
Cassandra Clare
Publisher: 
Walker Books
Pages:
 439
Format: 
Paperback
Published:
 2011
Rating:
 4.5/ 5 stars

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Simon, Daylighter vampire teen is protected by the Mark of Cain, a pillar of fire from Heaven blazes attackers into salt, but an enemy gets at him through his first love Clary, who must face consequences, and maybe lose Jace. A Greater Demon infects nights of her Shadowhunter beloved for control, and sends grey-garbed minions for Simon himself.

MY REVIEW

Oh. Ma. God. This book was interesting.
Right now, it stands as my least favourite book in the series so far. But having said that, it was also an incredible novel.

Because this is the 4th book in the series, I can’t do a lot without spoiling the plot for the previous books + this book, so for this review I’m going to be listing all the pros and cons I had with this novel.

PROS
✔︎ There was so much action and (kinda obvious, kinda not) plot twists at the end that it            made me stop at times and yell at the characters and villains!
✔︎ It got more mysterious and enticing during the second half of the book, and made me           want to keep reading to find out what was going to happen next to my dear characters!
✔︎ Introduction to new characters was fun and kept the story interesting with new                       storylines, backstories and more problems.
✔︎ The characters and storylines in Clockwork Angel are introduced in this novel as well,           and it made me want to just go back to The Infernal Devices again, and to see how                   everything and everyone links up.
✔︎ THAT ENDING THOUGH! WTAF?!

CONS
The start was quite slow and repetitive. For at least the first half of the novel, I didn’t            really feel like reading this book; mainly the reason it took me a WHOLE MONTH to                finish it! Jace and Clary kept going back and forth and I found it very frustrating to read. I    just wanted them to be together and at times it seemed like stupid reasons were why            they weren’t.
The characters decisions in this novel weren’t very good. They sometimes made rash            choices that ended up quite badly and at times I was literally whisper-yelling at them to      stop.

There weren’t as many cons as there were pros, though the slowness of the beginning of the novel really put me off giving it a solid 5/5 stars. I enjoyed most of the book, but not a great deal happened in the beginning chapters. After this ending though, I’m bubbling to read City of Lost Souls! I can’t believe I’m almost over with this series!😭

Have you read City of Fallen Angels? What were your thoughts?

Think good thoughts,

2

2 thoughts on “City Of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, #4) by Cassandra Clare ~ Spoiler Free Book Review

Leave a Reply/Let's Discuss

