Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices, #2) by Cassandra Clare ~ Spoiler Free Book Review

Title: Clockwork Prince (The Infernal Devices #2)
Author: 
Cassandra Clare

Publisher: 
Walker Books
Pages:
 500
Format: 
Paperback
Published: 2015 (first published in 2011)
Rating:
 5 / 5 stars

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends.

With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, but her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.

MY REVIEW

This review is only going to be short because SPOILERS!!

But this freaking book was AMAZING!!!! It is probably my favourite one of the Shadowhunter Chronicles! (don’t hold me against it tho!) I read it in less than 10 days, and considering it is a 500 page book, that’s pretty good for me! Clockwork Prince was addictive in the sense that I wanted to find out what was wrong with Will, what Tessa is and if they get to keep to London Institute. It kept me on the edge of my seat and I loved every minute of it!

We got to know a lot of the characters more in Clockwork Prince. We spent more time with Sophie, and Charlotte and Henry, and went a bit into Jessamine’s crazy life and mind. (She is definitely a crazy idiot, but I still feel sorry for her.) I loved the scene with Charlotte and Henry, when they are talking about their relationship; it almost brought tears to my eyes! And I love Sophie so much! She’s so independent and badass in her own mundane way and would definitely make an amazing Shadowhunter….

Clockwork Prince also made the love triangle even more triangular, and I feel as though I am Tessa; I cannot choose who I like more. Will or Jem. I definitely grew on Will more this book, as I almost despised him in Clockwork Angel. He was such an asshole to Tessa while Jem was a total sweetheart and I could not see why and how anyone could like him/pair him with Tess. But in Clockwork Prince, I got to see why people like him and we went a little deeper into his past and current life. And now that he can be vulnerable, he is sweet and a good choice for Tessa, though so is Jem!

Overall, I absolutely adored this novel and am anticipating getting my hands on Clockwork Princess which is said to be a complete tear-jerker😭😭😭 The Infernal Devices are quickly becoming one of my favourite trilogies!

Here are some things I hope to see in the next book:

  • More Mortmain and his wicked plans! We didn’t even see him in this book which was so nerve-wrecking!
  • Tessa choosing Jem or Will!
  • Finding out what Tessa actually is.
  • More amazing action sequences taking down automatons!
  • Charlotte and Henry + child (SPOILERS!)
  • Magnus✨

lets-discuss

Have you read Clockwork Prince? Let me know your thoughts on this book below! I would love to if you loved this book just as much as I did!

Happy Reading,

1

*images of novel are my own. Graphics are put together by me but the rights of the images in the graphics are given to respective owner. Graphics made on Canva.com*

Leave a Reply/Let's Discuss

