Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon ~ Spoiler Free Book Review 

Title: Everything, Everything
Author: 
Nicola Yoon
Narrator/s: Bahni Turpin, Robbie Daymond
Publisher: 
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Format:
 Audiobook
Length:
6:44:22
Published: 2015 
Rating:
 4 / 5 stars

e-e*image is not mine. Rights given to respective owner.

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

MY REVIEW

What a great way to start 2017 and my career in listening to audiobooks!

Everything, Everything was a super cute, super unexpected and super quick novel and I finished it in the matter of a couple of days! I loved all the characters – well to some extent – and the descriptive writing Nicola used. It was beautiful and heart breaking, and such an incredible book to listen to on audio.

The diversity in this novel was right on there! Going into this novel, I didn’t know Maddy was an African-American-Japanese girl and was happily surprised when she revealed her background. I did a little research on Nicola Yoon – mainly stalking her on Twitter and Instagram tbh🙈 – and found out that she is African-American and her husband is (I’m pretty sure) Japanese. Their daughter is a mix; just like Maddy. I found this super cute, as it seems like she based her character on her own daughter!<3 I don’t think that counts as #OwnVoices book but it’s surely pretty close to being one! If you haven’t picked this book up yet as a diverse read, definitely think about doing so!

Another thing I liked was the relationship between Maddy and Olly, and though it seemed insta-lovey, it was acceptable because she was stuck in her house her whole life and has never been in love before. But having said that, their love for each other did seem genuine and even though it was a short novel, its course spanned to about 6 months, which is entirely normal in my opinion. They were so cute and funny together and I loved all their conversations on IM.

What I disliked was Maddy’s mum. There’s spoilers that I don’t want to say but let’s just say she was messed up and I’m glad she is seeking help.

Another thing I disliked was how the disease – SCID – was not described or explained in much depth. It would’ve been nice to know specifics rather than “she is allergic to basically everything in the outside world.” This created a few plot holes in the story as to how she consumes food as it would be assumed that she is allergic to most foods because they come from the “outside world”. I think that if Nicola included a bit more explanation of the disease, this book would’ve got a 5/5 stars from me!

Overall, I really enjoyed Everything, Everything. It made me laugh and almost cry and I had the most fun listening to the incredible narrators narrate the story. I think I might need to reread this novel one day in physical form because I’ve heard it contains illustrations drawn my Nicola’s husband! I’m excited for the next time I pick up one of Nicola’s books, whether it will be a reread or a new one!

lets-discuss

Have you read Everything, Everything? Or another on of Nicola’s books? Be sure to comment below any spoilery or non-spoilery thoughts on this stunning novel; I’d love to discuss!

Happy Reading, 

2

 

6 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon ~ Spoiler Free Book Review 

  1. TheAliceFan says:

    I haven’t read it, but I do plan to! Have heard lots of praises for the book and occasional complaints about the insta-love, but yeah, I do agree that when she has never gone outside for that long, the scenario is plausible 🙂

    Great review! Will be getting this in the future after saving up since books are quite pricey here 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Steph says:

    Oh my gosh, I am soo glad that you like this book as I’m always recommending it to people. I was recommended this book myself and was so glad that I picked up a copy. My favourite part obviously has to be the how Maddy discovers the whole first love feeling with Olly. Discovering love after being stuck in a house pretty much all her life has been a brilliant read. I also love the fact that Maddy then also has the courage to go out and get what she wants even if that means, at the time, costing her her life

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply/Let's Discuss

