Diversity Bingo 2017 || my #DiversityBingo2017 goals

Hey guys!

Today I’ll be discussing my plans for #DiversityBingo2017! I’ll be sharing with you what books I plan on reading and I hope I can give you some ideas for some of the categories!

First off, if you don’t know what Diversity Bingo 2017 is, where have you been?!

Just kidding! But it has been a popular topic over the past month or so and many people are taking part in it this year. So lemme explain to you what Diversity Bingo is!

Diversity Bingo 2017 is basically a 36-square bingo sheet created by a lovely bunch of bookstagrammers, book bloggers and booktubers, with a diverse book prompt/category in each box. The main goal is to read one book per prompt/category and to have crossed off each box by the end of 2017. This was done to spread awareness about diverse books and to encourage all readers to read diversely. Here is what the sheet looks like:
img_9628

I am going to try and participate this year! My goal is to read and cross off at least one row or column on the sheet. It doesn’t matter which row, but I gotta do it!
I chose this small goal for myself because I want to participate in Diversity Bingo and help spread diversity in the book community, but I know I cannot read a minimum of 36 books a year, so I thought that if I at least achieve my small goal and take part in this awesome idea, it will be better than nothing.

Now let’s move on to which books I plan on picking up for the bingo……

I’m thinking about completing the first column on the left and these are the books I’m planning to read:
*images are not mine. All rights reserved*

Romance with a Transgender Main Character
For this one, I’ve chosen to read If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo. I recently hauled this book and I am super excited to pick it up as I’ve heard nothing but great reviews!
26156987

Main Character with an Under-Represented Body
I’ll have to wait a bit for this one because it comes out in April! And it is The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli! I have yet to read Simon vs the Homosapiens Agenda but I have heard that Becky Albertalli is a phenomenal author and I’m super excited for it to come out! (April 11, 2017)
30653853

Main Character of Colour in a Sci-Fi Fantasy novel
I’ve actually got two for this one – and I’ll probably end up reading them both anyway! The first one I’m anticipating is Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh. I have yet to read The Wrath and the Dawn duology – and it is kind of high on my TBR – but the synopsis for this novel overtook the duology and sucked me in immediately! Flame in the Mist is thought to be a Mulan retelling which I’m all for and I’m looking forward to a badass main character! This one comes out on May 2nd.
The second book that I’m anticipating that fits this category is Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton, the sequel to Rebel of the Sands! I’m so excited for this novel and I’m gonna buy it and read it immediately. This one comes out on March 7th.
31574408-_uy200_   23308087

West Asian Setting 
Once again, I have two potential candidates for this category.
The first one is The Fire Wish by Amber Lough. Ever since I read Rebel of the Sands, I’ve been eying some Djinni-fantasy books and The Fire Wish seemed right up my alley!
The second book is The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. I might be potentially reading two of Renee’s books this year and I’m super excited because I hear so many good things about her writing.
Let me know which book I should pick up or if I should read both!
16123804   18798983

Black Main Character (own voices)
I think everyone is anticipating this book for this category and it is The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. The hype for this book is huge and I really hope it does not disappoint. The Hate U Give is also an Own Voices book, meaning that the author is black as well. I love when books are an Own Voice book because the author can put their own experiences and feelings into the book and I think it makes a book more real. This one comes out on February 28th.
32075671

Indigenous Main Character
This one was a hard one to find one for, but I eventually came across The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf by Ambelin Kwaymullina. First of all, that name is so cool! And second of all, she’s an Aussie and an Aborigine which is awesome because there aren’t many Aborigines doing the author thing! I’m excited to read this book!
13552764

lets-discuss
If you’re planning on taking part in #DiversityBingo2017, leave a comment below saying what books you’re excited to pick up! And if you have any more recommendations, feel free to leave them below; you can never have enough recommendations!

Happy Reading,

4

 

2 thoughts on “Diversity Bingo 2017 || my #DiversityBingo2017 goals

Leave a Reply/Let's Discuss

