City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5) By Cassandra Clare ~ Spoiler Book Review

Hey guys!

I think at this point, writing spoiler free reviews for Cassie’s books is pretty hard. And I don’t want to give you guys an accidental spoiler. So from now on, I’ll be doing spoiler reviews on Cassie’s books because you should have read them already because they are so good!😂 Let’s just get into the review!
*Disclaimer: This review is quite long. Just wanted to warn you. XD*

Title: City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5)
Author: 
Cassandra Clare
Publisher: 
Walker Books
Pages:
 546
Format: 
Paperback
Published: 2015 (first published in 2012)
Rating:
 5 / 5 stars

Processed with VSCO with a5 presetimg_0094Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.

MY SPOILER FREE THOUGHTS

City of Lost Souls was another fantastic novel by Cassandra Clare. I definitely enjoyed it a lot more than City of Fallen Angels and I found it a lot more interesting. Compared to COFA, COLS had many parts where you had to really take in what was happening all throughout the novel, while COFA only had those parts towards the end. The things that go down in this novel are intense, and a lot of the time I was worried about my favourite characters and silently praying nothing bad would happen!
If this is the level of intensity in the second last book, I can only hope that I’ll survived City of Heavenly Fire in a mediocre condition!
City of Lost Souls was also a very funny novel, despite it’s darkness, and I love how Cassandra Clare can make you laugh even when everything is going bad and dark.
Overall, my spoiler free thoughts tell you to GO READ THIS BOOK IMMEDIATELY. Or this whole series, depending on what you have read.
Now goodbye non-spoilery people!……unless you want to be spoilt😬

MY SPOILER THOUGHTS

THINGS JUST GOT REAL IN THIS BOOK.
I am so so so sooooo nervous for the next book because Sebastian is on the loose! And nothing good comes from Sebastian. Only darkness, cruelness, and just overall strangeness. He has a lot of bad vibes that the gang does not need and it would do better if he just disappeared and did nothing. I don’t want anyone to die – well despite Seb – but I doubt that no one will die because a war is starting and not everyone survives a war.

Let’s talk about Sebastian. Now I think he’s one of those love to hate characters to me. Like I hate him, but he also has some redeemable qualities that are very hidden.
(Who am I kidding? Sebastian is a total douche and nothing will redeem him.) 
I think I liked him tolerated him more at the beginning of the novel, when he was always joking around with Jace because he was actually funny, but when he started becoming all creepy again with Clary, saying she belongs to him and they should be together, I started to hate him again. Like he is seriously a psychopath. And I don’t even think he knows it.

Izzy and Simon, and Maia and Jordan. My two new ultimate ships because the cuteness is real and both couples are perfect together. I’m glad Maia and Jordan got back together because they were happy before and it would be silly not to, since they cleared up everything bad. And Izzy and Simon should just admit to themselves that they’re dating because they practically are. I mean come on, you literally slept with each other and Izzy let Simon drink her blood. That’s relationship goals right there.

We saw a more vulnerable side to Izzy this novel and I loved it. I love how she needs Simon and how she gets nervous about her feelings for him, even though it’s obvious they both love each other. When Jocelyn (who I actually hate tbh) and Izzy go to the Iron Sisters, Izzy spills about her father’s cheating and I felt so bad for her. But also when the Sisters say that she would make an excellent Iron Sister, I had a crackpot theory moment. Crackpot Theory: Izzy is going to become an Iron Sister because they live longer and so she and Simon can be together for longer, since he is a vampire. I know it’s kinda whack but hey, YOU NEVER KNOW!

The battle scene was so epic yet it almost destroyed me. I feel so bad for Amatis. It’s just another thing to add t0 the list of horrible things Sebastian has done. Alec was so badass in the battle, rapid-firing his arrows like Katniss Everdeen! And even Simon was putting up a fight, without his Mark of Cain and all.
*Sidetrack: I am super worried and now kind of protective over Simon right now because the flippin’ angel got rid of the Mark. I know it was kind of a curse, but it helped him and the gang so many times in the past that it felt like I was saying goodbye to someone.*
Anyways, back to the battle. Sebastian was a little coward and didn’t even participate. I hope they kill him in the next book because he deserves to die.
And Magnus almost died!!!! I got over-anxious when he got hit and I would’ve cried if he did die right there. But luckily, thank the heavens or Cassandra Clare, that he didn’t die!

Moving onto the epilogue, which by the way, was pretty long for an epilogue. The fight and break up that Magnus and Alec had made me shed a tear. I hate them apart and I don’t know how I’ll be without Malec next book. I really hope they get back together ASAP because they love each other and they gang need their High Warlock of Brooklyn. But Alec almost deserved it because shortening your boyfriend’s life without their permission isn’t exactly an okay thing to do.
And that scene with Maureen and Alec was actually terrifying. Well actually every scene with Maureen is creepy and terrifying, but the fact that she KILLED Camille makes everything worse. Camille is so old and Maureen is so young and now everything is just going to go into  chaos in the Vampire community.
Finishing off with Clary and the real Jace. They are so sweet and I really hope Jace doesn’t get involved in the dark side anymore and stays with the gang the whole next book because he’s been through too much and he always manages to split with the group. I just want to lock him up in a cage and never let him leave so I know he’s safe.

So those were my thoughts, opinions and feelings (plus a crackpot theory) on City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. I enjoyed this novel a lot and I can only hope for better (or worse) things in the next novel.

lets-discuss

Tell me all your thoughts below! Please don’t give me City of Heavenly Fire spoilers because that’s just mean. Are you a Sebastian fan? Do you hate Jocelyn? Tell me your crackpot theories as well because I’d love to know what you think!

Happy Reading, 

3

2 thoughts on “City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5) By Cassandra Clare ~ Spoiler Book Review

  1. Tyra @ Tyra's Bookshelf says:

    Ah! Believe me – City of Heavenly Fire is a ROLLERCOASTER of emotions, so hope you’re looking forward to that!

    I agree with you! Sebastian is definitely a character that you obviously hate, yet there’s a part of you that wants to like him?!

    Also, Simon my absolute favourite character & I love him with Izzy! I love it when Izzy shows her more vulnerable side and lets down her guard a little! You see her from a completely different perspective!

    Great Review!! I loved it!! Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply/Let's Discuss

