Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver ~ Spoiler Free Review

Title: Before I Fall
Author: 
Lauren Oliver
Publisher: 
HarperCollins
Pages:
 470
Format: 
Paperback
Published: 2010
Rating:
 5 / 5 stars

img_0140Processed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 preset

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

With this stunning debut novel, New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver emerged as one of today’s foremost authors of young adult fiction. Like Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why and Gayle Forman’s If I Stay, Before I Fall raises thought-provoking questions about love, death, and how one person’s life can affect so many others.

For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.

However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

MY REVIEW

First off, I just want to say that this book exceeded all my expectations and I do not want to spoil you for this book, so this will be a short non-spoiler review!

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver was a different and darker contemporary novel that made you question the meaning of life and what you are doing with your time. Although the main themes are life and death, the story was still hilarious, light-hearted and motivational.

The concept of living the last day of your life over and over again was intriguing and captivated me from the start. Sam’s emotions and thoughts really came through the pages and I felt almost all the feelings she was feeling. Sam was a flawed character who redeemed herself time and time again and showed that she was more than just a ‘popular’ high school girl; in fact all her friends did. I didn’t like the group at the start of the novel, but I came around eventually because they are nice people and are just like everybody else.

The relationship with Kent was so funny and sweet and I love him so much. He is definitely another one of my book boyfriends! *i have too many! oops*

Before I Fall was a rollercoaster of emotions and eventually brought me to tears during the last few pages. I will definitely be cherishing this book for a while and I am super excited to see the movie. I’m hoping it turns out well, and isn’t one of those cringey YA movies because the novel was so much more complex than that.

And one last thing. Just like Lauren Oliver’s Delirium trilogy, this book ends abruptly and we don’t really know what happens to the main characters in real life; we can only assume. I love and hate that about Oliver’s books because I feel incomplete, but I can also conspire all the theories I want!

Before I Fall was a phenomenal novel about life, death, friendship and finding out who you are and what your purpose is. It is highly impactful and emotional, and I cannot wait for it to be presented on screen! You should definitely add it to your TBR! (sorry, not sorry for adding to your overflowing TBR!)

lets-discuss

Have you read Before I Fall before? 😉 Are you looking forward to seeing the novel on the big screen? Tell me your thoughts, feelings, opinions and theories down below!

Happy Reading,

2

3 thoughts on “Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver ~ Spoiler Free Review

  1. RedheadedBooklover says:

    Hi there! I just came across this post of yours and your blog in general and I couldn’t help but comment and tell you how much I love this! Keep up the great work, I am going to follow you so I can keep up with all your new posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply/Let's Discuss

